David
Housewright

 

Pretty Girl Gone

Tin City

St. Martin's Minotaur
ISBN 0-312-34829-0

Tin City

Leisure Fiction
ISBN 08439-5847-2

the books

about the author

what's happening

advertising services

* A complicated cold case threatens the political ambitions of the governor of Minnesota in this third Mac McKenzie novel.

McKenzie has a lot of old girlfriends. But only one went on to marry the current governor of the state of Minnesota. And only one is calling him with a desperate request to meet in secret. The First Lady is carrying an email that contains a nasty rumor about her husband, and the truth is buried decades deep in a small town's history.

Of course Mac always has plenty of time on his hands and is in the business of handling such matters for his friends. So he heads straight into the governor's past, planning to poke around and see if he can stir up a little information. Before long, someone starts poking him back, and it's clear that he has stirred up nothing but trouble. Mac is soon shifting through a complex web of interlocking secrets and lies, some decades-old, and some rooted violently in the present day.

*Reviews

"Housewright's unapologetically flawed hero charms, while the clean plot lines, palpable Minnesota winter and understated humor make this a good, satisfying read."
--Publishers Weekly

"This is the third Mac McKenzie mystery, and it's turning into quite an interesting series: solid premise, tight plotting, and this time more depth in character development, as Housewright explores Mac's emotional side."
--Booklist

"Pretty Girl Gone is an incredible addition to “Cold Case” mysteries, joining the likes of recent books by Michael Connelly, KJ Erickson, Mary Logue, and Reed Farrell Coleman. Housewright artfully portrays the hopelessness of a group of men who’s defining moment happened when they were teenager’s; of pitiful lives spent chasing a memory soured by tragedy and deceit... Mac McKenzie is an entertaining and engaging character, and in this, the 3rd novel in the series (following A Hard Ticket Home, and Tin City), appears all too human... Pretty Girl Gone is a complex, thoroughly enjoyable addition to what is becoming one of our favorite mystery series."
--CrimeSpree Magazine

"(Housewright is one) of Minnesota's most dependable practitioners of the craft... Mac is good company...with a wry sense of humor, often aimed at himself, and a quick, accurate take on people and places. While certainly not an errant knight in the tradition of Raymond Chandler and Robert B. Parker, he's a good man who's wise enough to know that he will disappoint himself."
--Minneapolis Star Tribune

* Buy the Book


All text © 1999-2012 David Housewright
Site design by Kate Derie, aka ClueLass